Top Menu

Naaz names Zone VI provisional squad

The National Athletics Association of Zimbabwe (Naaz) has named an 80-member Zone VI Games provisional squad, that will represent the country at the prestigious event next year in Bulawayo.


A six-member technical department will be in charge of the team during the games.

The final squad will be trimmed to 50, a few days before the games kick off.

The provisional team released by the association’s director of coaching and talent identification Phakamile Lisimati on Friday saw 40 girls named.

The sprint category for the girls has seasoned campaigners such as Yvonne Vanhuvaone and Ruvarashe Mzinde, while in the middle and long distance section Bertha Chikanga, Marjory Mudyiravanji and Enlitha Ncube will compete for the ticket to represent the country.

In the 40-member boys’ squad, Naaz named the likes of Michael Songore, Sean Banda, Daniel Chidavaenzi and Marvelous Ndebele among others.

The field events for the boys have the likes of Takudzwa Muchichwa, Moment Goredema from Mashonaland Central and Balylon Chirara from Harare among others.
In an interview with Standardsport, Naaz president Tendai Tagara said they selected the best team, and added that they were hoping to rack many medals at the games.

“We are serious about these games and also other tournaments in the coming future. We named a big squad because we want to play around with the names, so we can possibly come up with the best 50-member squad,’’ he said.

“Since we are hosting the event, we would like to have as much representatives as we can. I think we are the first association to name a provisional squad for the tournament. We are going to host two tournaments every month for the athletes starting in December this year until July next year in preparation for the games,’’ he said.

Zimbabwe Zone VI provisional squad

Middle and long distances:
Ncube Enlitha, Chikanga Bertha, Bungu Annah (Mash East), Munkombe Visitor, Sibonokuhle Maseko (Mat South), Mudyiravanji Maryjoy (Midlands), Chawora Shylet (Mash Central), Maketi Netsai.

Field Events:
Chitsanga Tapiwa (Midlands), Musarurwa Sitshengisiwe (Masvingo), Ndlovu Grace (Mat South), Shavi Olivia Olivia (Mash East), Mlalazi Eutra, Malinga Thandeka (Mat South), Muzorewa Pamidzai (Harare), Ncube Perserverance, Ndlovu Grace (Mat South), Ngachiwe Talent (Manicaland), Ndlovu Nomagugu (Mat South), Tumbare Egness (Masvingo), Muzhazha Ivy (Mash East), Shylet Chawora, Trinity Gadzanai (Manicaland), Tumbare Egnes (Masvingo), Muyambo Abigirl (Masvingo), Sibanda Flora (Mat South).

Mutale Pesi (Mat North), Thomas Yvonne (Harare), Nyasha Kambari (Harare), Faith Munhuwa (Mash Central), Mzinde Ruvarashe (Manicaland), Mahachi Tsitsi (Harare), Vanhuvaone Yvonne (Byo), Dube Niama (Mat South), Venus Phiri (Mash West), Maruma Samantha (Manicaland), Zimunhu Primrose (Harare), Sarah Phiri (Mash West), Geza Buhle (Harare), Mtinsi Sharon (Byo).

Middle and long track events:
Blessing Jameson, Chitambu Shylock (Mash East), Tonorwa Richmond (Manicaland), Zimuto Tendai (Harare), Ncube Daniel (Mat North), Dube Prince (Mat South), Mutsetse Nyasha (Manicaland), Mukudzavu Tatenda (Masvingo), Chitimbe Lucky (Mash West), Masundire Ngoni (Midlands), Nyathi Titus (Mash West).

Field Events:
Muchichwa Takudzwa (Mash East), Gorejena Moment (Mash Central), Katuka Prince (Mash Central), Nyoni Sydney, Tshuma Bhekisisa (Mat South), Mada Brain ( Manicaland), Sithole Ronaldino (Midlands), Nyakuwengana Edwin (Masvingo), Mswazi Anesu (Mash East), Mbofana Jeffrey (Midlands), Bablon Chirara (Harare), Mwanza Guide (Harare), Tapiwa Makumbine (Harare), Sylvester Chihodo (Mash West), Magere Peter (Byo).

Lusinga Pride (Midlands), Songore Michael (Mash East), Musarurwa Tatenda (Midlands), Mutariswa Tafadzwa (Mat South), Banda Sean (Byo), Gorowa Kenias (Mash Central), Chidavaenzi Daniel (Harare), Mthabisi Phiri (Byo), Mhiripiri Llyod (Harare), Khumalo Andile (Byo), Ngwenya Bright.

Comments are closed.

AMH logo

© 2018 The Zimind. All Rights reserved.

DMMA logo