HomeSportKnowledge Musona’s moment of truth

Knowledge Musona’s moment of truth

Musona currently leads scoring charts with 13 goals and is in good stead to win the Golden Boot with three league matches to play before the season ends.

Katlego Mphela — the Mamelodi Sundowns striker who went on strike after his transfer dispute with the club, only to find he was not missed much in spite of being away for over four weeks, follows him closely with 12 goals.

The Sundowns striker is the reigning top goal scorer who scored 17 goals last season. Ironically Musona’s Kaizer Chiefs come face to face with Mphela’s Sundowns on May 1 in one of their remaining three league matches. Another Zimbabwean and Sundowns player Nyasha Mushekwi, also on 10 goals, is also chasing the Golden Boot.

In the event that Musona keeps his goal-scoring prowess, he is set to become the third Zimbabwean to scoop the scoring award after Gilbert Muzhangazhike and Wilfred Mugeyi. Mushangazhike grabbed the award in the 2000/01 season after scoring 19 goals for Manning Rangers. Mugeyi, who is now an assistant coach at Ajax Cape Town, also won the award in the 1996/97 season after scoring 22 goals for the then Umtata Bucks.

If Mphela, however, pips Musona to the Golden Boot the Zimbabwe international will be kicking himself for the shoulder injury that he suffered on February 2, which saw him missing some league matches.

However, with just three games to go, whoever clinches the award is almost certain to miss out on a massive payday at the Premier Soccer League year-end function.

Two seasons ago, the league introduced stringent rules when rewarding the top scorer. As it stands, should Musona’s 13 goals win him the award, he would receive just R25 000. If he were to net more than 15 goals, the figure would double. Scoring more than 20 goals, which has happened just three times in 14 PSL seasons, would bank a striker R75 000.

That 20-goal feat looks certainly beyond the strikers this season, and experts in South Africa blamed a range of factors, such as poor technique and kick-and-rush football.


13 – Knowledge Musona
12 – Katlego Mphela
11 – Lehlohonolo Majoro
10 – Thembinkosi Fanteni; Thulani Serero; Bradley Grobler; Nyasha Mushekwi
9 – Collins Mbesuma
2009/10 – Katlego Mphela (Sundowns) 17 goals
2008/09 – Richard Henyekane (Arrows) 19
2007/08 – James Chamanga (Swallows) 14
2006/07 – Christopher Katongo (Cosmos) 15
2005/06 – Maime Niang (Swallows) 14
2004/05 – Collins Mbesuma (Chiefs) 25
2003/04 – Jackie Ledwaba (AmaZulu) 14
2002/03 – Lesley Manyathela (Pirates) 18
2001/02 – Ishmael Maluleke (Rangers) 18*
2000/01 – Gilbert Mushangazhike (Rangers) 19
1999/00 – Dennis Lota (Pirates) 18
1998/99 – Daniel Mudau (Sundowns) 24
1997/98 – George Koumantarakis (Manning Rangers) 14
1996/97 – Wilfred Mugeyi (Umtata Bucks) 22
* League was reduced from 18 to 16 teams after this season


Less than 15 goals – R25 000

16-20 goals – R50 000

21-25 – R75 000

26 or more – R100 000

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading