Top Menu

T20 World Cup squad named

A dark cloud might be cast over the future of Zimbabwe Cricket but coach Andy Waller has named a provisional 30-member squad for the ICC World T-20 Cup to be held in Bangladesh in March.


Waller will choose his final 15 men from that squad before February 15.

Preparations for the T-20 World Cup have stalled due to a player revolt that has affected the domestic season. The players have downed their bats demanding unpaid salaries.

Familiar faces appear in the Brendan Taylor-captained side which however has a few surprises.

Batsman Cephas Zhuwawo returns to the national fold after a three-year absence and will be contesting for a place to Bangladesh.
Also making a comeback are Edward Rainsford, Charles Coventry and Chris Mpofu.

Southern Rocks all-rounder Tafadzwa Kamungozi has also been considered.

Former Under-19 opening batsman and wicketkeeper Kevin Kasuza has received his first senior call-up.

Also in line to impress Waller is pace bowler Tawanda Mupariwa who has been absent from the national side since 2008.

Sikandar Raza Butt, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Michael Chinouya, Charles Coventry, Trevor Garwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Tino Mawoyo, Chris Mpofu, Tawanda Mupariwa, Natsai M’shangwe, Forster Mutizwa, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Richmond Mutumbami, Taurai Muzarabani, Richard Muzhange, Tinashe Panyangara, Edward Rainsford, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor (cpt), Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcom Waller, Sean Williams, Cephas Zhuwawo.

One Response to T20 World Cup squad named

  1. Aman Bansal January 5, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

    Zimbabwe would be expecting some great innings from Coventry so that they can secure respectful position in the 20-20 world cup.

AMH logo

© 2020 The Zimind. All Rights reserved.

DMMA logo