MDC-T Manicaland executive dissolved

There was drama at the MDC-T provincial offices in Mutare yesterday when loyalists of party leader, Morgan Tsvangirai staged a coup and ousted provincial executive members they suspected to be working against the former premier.


The Tsvangirai loyalists accused the provincial executive of working for a new faction called “Third Force,” which they allege was both anti-Tsvangirai and anti-Tendai Biti, the leader of the rival MDC-T Renewal Team.

Problems in the province mounted on Friday when the provincial youth executive resigned en-masse from Tsvangirai’s camp to join the Biti faction.

Several party district officials had gathered at the provincial offices to wrestle the MDC-T provincial offices from the Biti faction which claims to be the owners of the building.

But the officials ended up ousting the entire provincial executive, including acting chairman Shuah Mudiwa, organising secretary and Musikavanhu MP Prosper Mutseyami and provincial women’s boss Keresenzia Chabuka.

The only executive member spared the chop was provincial secretary Misheck Kagurabadza.

The coup by the party districts installed 11 officials as the interim provincial management committee.

Addressing the supporters after the coup, Kagurabadza said he would tomorrow brief Tsvangirai and the national organising committee on the new developments in Manicaland.

“We accept the decision which you have made today as the districts. I am going to Harare on Monday to meet president Tsvangirai and the organising committee to appraise them of the developments,” he said.

Kagurabadza also described the “Third Force” group within the MDC-T as destructive.

MDC-T national executive member, Giles Mutsekwa said the decision taken by the districts was proper.

“We will take the report to the national office, that Manicaland has decided to work with only those supporting Tsvangirai. There was no leader here except Kagurabadza. I will task him again to regularise today’s event,” he said.

“We want to take over this province from Zanu-PF and we cannot do that with the calibre of people that we have [ousted],” he said.

Those co-opted in the management committee include Mutasa Central MP Trevor Saruwaka and former MPs Webber Chinyadza, David Chimhini, Willard Chimbetete and Naison Nemadziwa.

Others are Mutare mayor Tatenda Nhamarare, Stella Muzhingi, Sangani Mutabanhema, Pamela Mutari, Ngaite Zimunya and Irimai Mukwishu.

Contacted for comment yesterday, Chabuka dismissed the coup as null and void saying only Tsvangirai would determine who should lead Manicaland.

She added that she would continue with her duties as the provincial women’s chair with Mudiwa as provincial chair.

3 Responses to MDC-T Manicaland executive dissolved

  1. renewal June 15, 2014 at 11:29 am #

    Mdc tsvangirai is a shame to the nation,lack of national comtment to personel gains,people must start realising kuti mangoma ,nabiti they were hundred percent. True kuti morgen had turn the democratic movement to revolutional movement,inhau yavo yemaposition kwavanoenda hapana,mutseyami mutengesi,renewall foeva ndiyo chete nzira,to free the people of zim,mdc t zanupf zvafanana,biti is the only hope

    • QTrne9412 June 19, 2014 at 8:28 am #

      ᴍʏ ᴄʟᴀssᴍᴀᴛᴇ’s ᴍᴏᴍ ᴍᴀᴋᴇs $74 /ʜᴏᴜʀ ᴏɴ ᴛʜᴇ ɪɴᴛᴇʀɴᴇᴛ . Sʜᴇ ʜᴀs ʙᴇᴇɴ ᴜɴᴇᴍᴘʟᴏʏᴇᴅ ғᴏʀ ɴɪɴᴇ ᴍᴏɴᴛʜs ʙᴜᴛ ʟᴀsᴛ ᴍᴏɴᴛʜ ʜᴇʀ ᴄʜᴇᴄᴋ ᴡᴀs $19254 ᴊᴜsᴛ ᴡᴏʀᴋɪɴɢ ᴏɴ ᴛʜᴇ ɪɴᴛᴇʀɴᴇᴛ ғᴏʀ ᴀ ғᴇᴡ ʜᴏᴜʀs. ᴡᴇʙsɪᴛᴇ ʟɪɴᴋ
      ================== >>>>>>>>>>>

  2. chimwango June 15, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

    @Renewal.Ask yourself where Biti was elected by congress.

AMH logo

© 2021 The Zimind. All Rights reserved.

DMMA logo