HomePoliticsMliswa bounces back

Mliswa bounces back

Barely a month after the Zanu PF’s politburo kicked him out of the chairmanship of Mashonaland West province, Temba Mliswa has bounced back.


The outspoken politician was overwhelmingly voted into the Central Committee in Hurungwe yesterday.

The results in the province saw members viewed as belonging to a faction led by Vice-President Joice Mujuru winning positions to the central committee.

Other members who were elected include Webster Shamu, Edna Madzongwe and Sylvester Nguni (all Chegutu).

Mliswa, Reuben Marumahoko, Godfrey Beremauro and Phone Madiro, who won in their respective constituencies, join Sarah Mahoka who sits in the central committee by virtue of being the treasurer of the National Women’s League for the five positions allocated Hurungwe district.

In Makonde prominent businessman Phillip Chiyangwa was controversially elected into the Central Committee alongside Lands and Rural Resettlement minister Douglas Mombeshora and Prisca Mupfumira.

Initially Chiyangwa was said to have failed to meet the Central Committee criteria, especially the clause that bars all those with less than five years of continuous service in the party.
James Gumpo was nominated unopposed in Kariba.

In Zvimba no elections were held as there was consensus that Ignatius Chombo, Patrick Zhuwao, Walter Chidhakwa, Joseph Chirongoma and Virginia Muchenje be central committee members.

After the election of Shamu, Madzongwe and Nguni in Chegutu, war veterans’ leader Christopher Mutsvangwa has to tussle with former Norton town chair Bybit Tsomondo for the remaining slot which is to be decided today.

Mike Gava was handed the position to represent the youth in Kadoma. Other central committee members for Kadoma district include Peter Haritatosi, Sarah Chaderopa, Zacharia Ziyambi and Anesu Ruwizhi.

Jimaya Muduwuri will battle it out with former Kadoma mayor Fani Phiri while former deputy Information minister Bright Matonga will tussle with Chengeta for the remaining two posts for Kadoma.

Mashonaland West was allocated 31 posts in the central committee and the remainder will be filled today through the quota system.
The results will be endorsed today during the Provincial Inter-Districts conference where a position of the province will be deliberated for the posts at congress.

The Central Committee is the principal organ of the Congress and consists of members drawn from the party’s 10 provinces.

It acts on behalf of Congress when it is not in session and among other things; implements all policies, resolutions, directives, decisions, and programmes enunciated by Congress. It meets once in three months.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading