HomeSportWarriors held in Cosafa opener

Warriors held in Cosafa opener

Zimbabwe . . . . . . . . 0 (2)
Swaziland . . . . . . . . 1 (2)

WINDHOEK — Zimbabwe came from a goal down on two occasions to earn a hard fought 2-2 draw against Swaziland in the 2016 Cosafa Castle Cup opener at Sam Nujoma Stadium in Namibia yesterday.

Kaizer Chiefs target Felix Badenhorst scored a brace for Sihlangu Semnikati, with Obadiah Tarumbwa and Ronald Pfumbidzai finding the back of the net for the four-time champions.

Swaziland were all over the Warriors in the first-half and after Badenhorst beat the offside trap to head home the opener on 17 minutes, Swaziland head coach Harris Bulunga would have expected his side to have established a bigger lead heading into the tunnel at the break.

But the King’s Shield were guilty of squandering several goal-scoring opportunities, with Njabulo Ndlovu unlucky to see his bicycle-kick fly just over on 32 minutes.

Swaziland continued their assault on the Zimbabwe goal after the break and should have doubled their lead seven minutes in the second stanza. Tony Tsabedze slipped in behind the Warriors defence, but failed to find the back of the net with the goal at his mercy.

Tsabedze was made to rue his missed chance as Zimbabwe pulled level through Tarumbwa soon after.

In identical fashion to Badenhorst’s opener, the former AmaTuks forward ghosted in behind the Swazi defence before heading home the equaliser.

Badenhorst restored Swaziland’s lead in the 65th minute. After Danny Phiri handled the ball inside the penalty area, the striker duly struck home from 12 yards.

But poor defending would cost Swaziland all three points. After they failed to clear their lines, Pfumbidzai pounced to net a spectacular overhead kick in the 78th minute to earn Kalisto Pasuwa’s troops a point.

Badenhorst had a chance to win it for Swaziland and subsequently complete his hat-trick with five minutes remaining. The in-form striker, though, failed to guide his towering header on target from close range.

Zimbabwe: Mukuruva; Zvirekwi (Kutinyu 90′), Kangwa (Chapapiwa 54′) , Muroiwa, Hadebe, Masuku, Phiri, Mudehwe (Manuvire 77′), Tarumbwa, Pfumbidzai, Mashumba
Swaziland: Ginndiza; Mabila, Muzi Dlamini (Nhleko 82′), Mdluli, Mkhweli, Badenhorst, Ndzinisa, Lukhele, Dlamini, Ndlovo, Tsabedze (Palma 69′)
— Backpage TXT

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading