HomeSportCricket squad to be announced

Cricket squad to be announced

ZIMBWBE Cricket will on Wednesday announce the final 15-member squad that will participate at the 2012 Twenty20 World Cup to be held in Sri Lanka next month.
The tournament runs from September 18 to October 7 with Zimbabwe caged in the same group as neighbours South Africa and hosts Sri Lanka.
Zimbabwe play their first match against Sri Lanka on September 18 at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium with the one against South Africa following two days later.
Convenor of selectors Givemore Makoni said preparations have been going on very well.
“So far we have 20 players in camp and preparations have been going on smoothly. On Wednesday, we will announce the final squad that will travel to Sri Lanka.  The team might play preparatory matches in Sri Lanka or we might settle for a country that is closer to the host nation,” he said.



Group A – England, India and Afghanistan

Group B – Australia, West Indies and Ireland

Group C – South Africa, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe

Group D – New Zealand, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading